Maybe my Parents were Right..

I was never allowed to have a TV in my room growing up. Or at least that’s what my parents told me. So I bypassed them and went straight to my grandma who always gets me everything I want (because she loves me). And low and behold when I was around 14ish I got that TV in my room (courtesy of Grandma). But perhaps it was a good thing I never had one before age 14 because a new study in England claims that, “Children with TVs in their bedrooms and their own mobile phones suffer significant falls in reading achievement.” Mind you I didn’t have a cell phone until age 16 so apparently they did that right too. But now two thirds of 10-year-olds have a TV in their bedroom or a mobile phone in their hands. This possession of electronic gadgets at age 10 shows a loss of 20 marks (on average) in a reading test given in 45 countries. Not only that but apparently forcing me to play piano for six years was a good thing too. Kids who play an instrument have a 30 point boost in their scores. Don’t you hate it when your parents are right? I do.

Read more about this study here. It also includes information on math & science scores but I care zero percent about those subjects.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, children, current news, fun facts, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

