Colin Fischer by Ashley Edward Miller & Zack Stentz

card

I am fascinated (sometimes unnaturally so) by autism and Asperger’s. I know they’re different but I am equally interested in them both. I read every book I can find that has to do with both. I have recently read Jodi Picoult’s House Rules (loved) & Lisa Genova’s Love Anthony (also loved). Most recently, I finished a YA novel titled Colin Fischer. Colin has no concept of facial expressions, which explains the cover and the endpapers being peppered with different facial expressions. Here is a quick summary from Goodreads.

“When a gun is found in the school cafeteria, interrupting a female classmate’s birthday celebration, Colin is the only one for the investigation. It’s up to him to prove that Wayne Connelly, the school bully and Colin’s frequent tormenter, didn’t bring the gun to school.”

And there lies the plot. Pretty self explanatory. The ending opens up for a sequel but there is no, “look for book 2” comment in the back so perhaps it’s just a cliff hanger ending. I really enjoyed this book although I’m curious as to whether children with Asperger’s are really as flexible as Colin seems to be in his every day life. I know there’s obviously a spectrum so perhaps Colin is just on his own spectrum. But from previous books I’ve read about kids Colin seems to be more flexible than most i.e. he learns to be touched without screaming in fact he volunteers it once at the end, he improves his hand eye coordination and becomes a basketball star, etc.  Either way, it was a great book and I highly suggest it.

Summary for House Rules by Picoult here & Love Anthony by Genova here.

Leave a comment

Filed under book review, fiction, young adult

Leave a Reply

