Love Times Three by the Darger family

Love Times Three: Our True Story of a Polygamous Marriage

I just finished Love Times Three by the Darger family. I was enthralled. I admit, I am one of those people who watched Sister Wives. So if you don’t & you could care a less about polygamy then this probably isn’t the book for you. I am genuinely interested in polygamy, not because I want to be a polygamist, but because I find it so fascinating to learn about other lifestyle choices. One weekend my roommate & I were watching a show on swingers (polygamy is not swinging, I know) and we got on the topic of a man with more than one wife. Why do women get jealous? Because their husband is sleeping with another woman? Newsflash, unless you married a virgin (which isn’t likely in this age but if you did props to you) your husband has slept with other women. Women you don’t know. Probably more than one. Maybe more than 5. Does it really matter if he’s doing it under your nose? If you know the woman as a person and love her and know he loves you also? No, not in my opinion. I feel like knowing is better. But that’s just me. And no, I’m not a polygamist.

So about the book. These women who are married to Joe are individuals. They aren’t teenagers with ponytails & skirts waiting for Grandpa to come claim them as their wives. They know what the like & want.  Apparently, this family was the basis for the HBO show Big Love. A show I used to watch and also enjoyed. While Joe says in the book that some of what happened in the show definitely wouldn’t happen in his family (i.e. having sex in another wife’s room or courting a new wife without asking the other wives first) he also said that some of the episode plots came directly from his family. Anyway, if you’re interested in polygamy (maybe not the actual why & religious portion but the family dynamics portion) this would be a good book to pick up and fly through!

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, book review, non-fiction

Leave a Reply

