Book two in a trilogy usually sucks..

I’m just going to say what everyone is thinking. Book two in a trilogy usually sucks. I can name series after series that I’ve never completed because I got stalled on how much book two sucks compared to book one. Here are some that I remember & actually wish I could suffer through to find out what happens.

wordpress

Fever (Chemical Garden trilogy) by Lauren DeStafano

wordpress

Crossed (Matched trilogy) by Ally Condie

wordpress

Don’t kill me, Catching Fire (Hunger Games trilogy) by Suzanne Collins

wordpress

Spark (Sky Chasers trilogy) by Amy Kathleen Ryan.

I can’t count how many times people say, “book one was the best.” Why would I read books two and three if book one was the best? Especially if I don’t really think book one was all that awesome. That does not make me want to spend 5 more days of my life finishing the series. Now I will admit this may not be because the book sucks. It could be something else. It could be because publishers take advantage of trilogies and place them at least a year apart so when book two comes out you have to re-purchase (or re-check out) book one in order to remember what should be happening in book two. Let me tell you something. Ain’t nobody got time for that. There’s a whole OTHER list I could make on second series books that I really want to read but can’t because I forget what the hell happened in book one. Those previous books I have actually tried to read and didn’t like them (some of them I’ve gone back to more than once).  Here’s two that I have that I WANT to read so bad but I’d have to go back and read book one first in order to understand.

wordpress

Because it is my Blood (Birthright trilogy) by Gabrielle Zevin

wordpress

Sapphire Blue (Ruby Red trilogy) by Kerstin Gier

And that ends my rant about sucky second series books.

 

3 Comments

Filed under book review, current news, fiction, young adult

3 responses to “Book two in a trilogy usually sucks..

  1. Pingback: New Trends in YA | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: All Souls Trilogy | No1Librarian

  3. Pingback: Annihilation | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

