Audiobook <3

I love audiobooks. I drive 15 to work & back AND go home for lunch. That means I can listen to about a disc a day of an adult audiobook. It works out great. A book every two weeks is about how it works out. Because I read less adult books I listen to a lot of adult books. But sometimes you just need to throw a kids book in there. There’s only so much death and deception I can take. Here is a list of the Top 10 Middle Grade Audiobooks according to Nerdy Book Club.

10) The Magic Treehouse, Books 1-8 by Mary Pope Osborne, read by the author

I have read the first book in this series just for Reader’s Advisory sake. It was cute. And I must say, I LOVE when books are read by the author.

9) Mercy Watson by Kate DiCamillo

This lady is relatively famous (i.e. Tale of Despereaux & Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane). I’ve heard these pig books are cute cute cute.

8) Peter Pan in Scarlet by Geraldine McCaughrean, read by Tim Curry

Tim Curry reads the Series of Unfortunate Events books also. Great reader.

7) The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

Never read this book but its a classic. It had its 50th anniversary in 2011.

6) The Doll People / The Meanest Doll in the World, by Ann M. Martin and Laura Godwin

Who doesn’t love the Babysitters Club?

5) The Great Brain by John D. Fitzgerald

I know nothing about this book but the reviewer said its hilarious.

4) Peter and the Starcatchers by Dave Barry and Ridley Pearson, read by Jim Dale

OH MY GOD. I LOVE JIM DALE. I am checking this out immediately.

3) Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder

I have all these books and I need to re-read them. There’s also a great memoir that someone wrote about her love of the Little House books where she went to all the locations in the books.

2) Millions by Frank Cottrell Boyce

What would you do if you found a million dollars cash? Gah, I’d probably faint.

1) The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

Ah see, I told you she was famous. And this book is so adorable, but sad. Tears will be shed. Especially if you’re listening to it on audiobook. Although, now that I think about it there are great illustrations with this book so you should probably make it a read-along.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under audiobooks, book review, children

Leave a Reply

