Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter

wordpress

This was a good book. The whole time I was listening to it I thought it was written by a woman, btw. Not that that’s relevant. I probably wouldn’t have picked it up on my own but there’s a Tournament of Books that I follow in the summer and Beautiful Ruins was up against Gone Girl. Having read everything surrounding the craziness of Gone Girl I was surprised it didn’t beat out everything. Runaway bestsellers do that. And since I wasn’t a big fan of Gone Girl I thought, well if this is better than that it can’t be that bad, right?

Summary: “… a dazzling, yet deeply human, roller coaster of a novel, spanning fifty years and nearly as many lives. From the lavish set of Cleopatra to the shabby revelry of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival, Walter introduces us to the tangled lives of a dozen unforgettable characters. Gloriously inventive, constantly surprising, Beautiful Ruins is a story of flawed yet fascinating people, navigating the rocky shores of their lives while clinging to their improbable dreams.”

I don’t know if I’d say it was better. But it was good. I liked the characters, some more than others, and I liked how they all interconnected through the flashbacks and current day. I think it tied up a little too quickly but all in all it was enjoyable. I think it may be better for people who like the movie world a lot more than I do, which is saying something because I really like movies. It also really made me want to go to Italy. Which is bad because I can’t go to Italy.

On a side note, despite my lack of addiction to the books of Gillian Flynn she was here for an author event our library sponsored and I met her and got one of her books signed. I love having signed books. It makes me feel special. Kind of like the Kevin Bacon thing. Now I’m only one degree away from so and so, blah blah.

Proof.

wordpress

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, audiobooks, book review, fiction

Leave a Reply

