Scooters: Fourth of July

Happy birthday America! Storytime today was all about summer-y things or books that I love or that kids love (i.e. animal sounds & lift-the-flaps). Fourth of July is not like Christmas, we don’t have oodles and oodles of books on the topic. Therefore, I didn’t want to hoard all the Fourth of July books and make it impossible for other patrons to check them out so I didn’t make it about the holiday.

I also wanted to make sure people still came today instead of going to the pool or on vacation so I bribed them last week by telling them we’d do giveaways. Since we’re moving to our new library in a month my boss is all about getting rid of stuff we don’t need. It was a win-win. I gave away a wheelbarrow with sand toys inside, a truck & a puzzle.  Great times.  Oh, and everyone got a pair of sunglasses.

Opening Song

(See week one for words)

wordpress 

Book: Sea, Sand, Me! by Patricia Hubbell

This book is kind of long so I read it first before they got wiggly.

 Before I read the next book I passed out sunglasses (for them to keep as another giveaway) and played Baby Beluga on my iPad. Usually I sing all the songs myself (because it encourages the parents to sing) but I do not know the words to Baby Beluga so I had Raffi sing it for me. God bless Raffi.

wordpress

Book: Beach Babies Wear Shades by Michelle Colman

wordpress

Book: Peekaboo Baby by Sebastien Braun

I’m telling you what. Babies LOVE lift-the-flap books. Even though a baby was hiding behind every flap they still thought it was the best thing ever.

After this book I passed out scarves and we did peek-a-boo songs.

SONG

I’m hiding I’m hiding

Peek-a-BOO Peek-a-BOO

I’m hiding I’m hiding

Peek-a-peek-a-BOO

I see you I see you

Peek-a-BOO Peek-a-BOO

I see you I see you

Peek-a-peek-a-BOO

SONG

Peek-a-boo I see you

I see you hiding there.

Peek-a-boo I see you

I see you hiding there.

PEEK-A-BOO!

 wordpress

Book: Animal Noises by Stephen Cartwright

SONG

(with stuffed farm animals)

When the cow gets up in the morning he always says…

When the sheep gets up in the morning…

When the horse gets up in the morning…

When the duck gets up in the morning…

When the dog gets up in the morning…

When the cat gets up in the morning…

CLOSING SONG

(see week one for words)

Even though we didn’t read Fourth of July books, we did make a Fourth of July craft. And it is AH-dorable. Instead of doing whatever that is on the bottom of their toes I just had them use gold glitter glue and make sparkly lines coming from their rocket-y toes.

wordpress

Leave a comment

Filed under children, day in the life, storytime

Leave a Reply

