Scooters: Digging in the Fields

This is the last week of themed Summer Reading storytimes. I think in the fall I’ll start an alphabet theme for baby storytime. Comment your ideas on that if you’ve got some. Next week is the last week before we take a break to move to the new library & we’ll be doing a Mother Goose on the Loose session so everyone can see what that is like.

DIGGING IN THE FIELDS

Opening Song

(see week one for words)

wordpress

Book: Digger Man by Andrea Zimmerman

Just a side note. Whenever I think a book is too long or I’m doing something specific with puppets & don’t need a certain page I just paper-clip them together. There is no rule that says you have to read the ENTIRE BOOK word for word. In fact, I probably never do that. And on certain pages in this book I paper-clipped because it was too long or too abstract for babies & I skipped it.

ACTION SONG

This is the way we pound our nails, pound our nails, pound our nails.

This is the way we pound our nails so early in the morning.

This is the way we saw the wood…

This is the way we turn the screw…

This is the way we paint the walls…

wordpress 

Book: Machines at Work by Byron Barton

KNEE BOUNCE

Take a little tractor ride with me

Chugga chugga chugga through the field we ride

Chugga chugga chugga side by side

Chugga chugga FAST, chugga chugga SLOW

Chugga chugga chugga chugga chugga chugga GO!

  wordpress

Magnet Board Book: Driving in my Tractor by Jan Dobbins & David Sim

 This is a book but I made it into a magnet board to make it more interactive.

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

And in my trailer there’s a very heavy load.

There’s ONE BLACK-AND-WHITE COW going MOO MOO MOO!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

And in my trailer there’s a very heavy load.

There are TWO GREY DONKEYS going HEE-HAW HEE-HAW HEE-HAW!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

And in my trailer there’s a very heavy load.

There are THREE PINK PIGS going OINK OINK OINK!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

And in my trailer there’s a very heavy load.

There are FOUR WHITE SHEEP going BAA BAA BAA!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

And in my trailer there’s a very heavy load.

There are FIVE BROWN CHICKENS going CLUCK CLUCK CLUCK!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

Driving my tractor down a bumpy road,

the trailer hit a stone and it SHOOK my load.

The animals FELL OUT and then they RAN AWAY!

OH MY, it’s been a very busy day.

Driving my tractor back home again,

I get to the farm and what do I see?

All of the animals waiting for me!

Chug chug toot toot, it’s a very busy day!

SONG

(I had the farm stuffed animals come out and make their animal sounds along with their part of the song.)

I went to visit the farm one day I saw a cow along the way

What do you think the cow did say? MOO!

Pig

Sheep

Dog

Cat

Duck

Horse

CLOSING SONG

(see week one for words)

Although I will probably have a craft to go with the alphabet theme it won’t be a hand/foot print craft so this was our last one. And SUPER cute to end with. The boys loved it.

wordpress

Leave a comment

Filed under children, day in the life, storytime

Leave a Reply

