The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

wordpress       Chris Colfer by Maarten de Boer

I love kids books. Which is good because that’s my job. This book was cuuute cute. And its written by an actor! You know, the guy from Glee. Does his hair look perfect or what? Anyway, I HATE books that are written by actors or singers or people who aren’t authors. Unless they’re biographies and then I guess it’s okay because they’re their own life expert. But anything else I detest. Like Madonna and her Roses series or whatever? What is that about. Go sing a song. That’s your job. No one asked you to start writing books. Authors don’t wake up one day and say, “I think I’m going to make an album today” or “I think I’m going to be an actress now.”  What if I woke up one day and decided I was going to try my hand at being a brain surgeon? So annoying. ANYWAY, now I can’t say that anymore because this book was pretty good. Although I could said it generally. GENERALLY, I detest books written by actresses or singers etc.

“Alex and Conner Bailey’s world is about to change, in this fast-paced adventure that uniquely combines our modern day world with the enchanting realm of classic fairy tales. The Land of Stories tells the tale of twins Alex and Conner. Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book of stories, they leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face-to-face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about. But after a series of encounters with witches, wolves, goblins, and trolls alike, getting back home is going to be harder than they thought.”

I listened to this book partly in audiobook because it was read by the author. And I love that. It was quick paced and full of the best fairy tales that everyone loves. BUT it was boy and girl friendly not just princess princess princess nonsense. There is a second book, I picked it up but I’m not sure I’ll get to it. The first book did end with a satisfactory conclusion that doesn’t require you to read on to the next book. Which is another thing I hate. When authors MAKE YOU read the second book because they end on a cliffhanger. Who does that.

So, props to you Chris Colfer. You’re an actor (and a singer I suppose) who wrote a good kids book & you didn’t monopolize society by forcing them to by book two.

2 Comments

Filed under audiobooks, book review, children, fiction

2 responses to “The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer

  1. Pingback: No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Harry Potter is Scary | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

