Hunger Games Trilogy

wordpress

I finally finished the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins. I had read the first book a long time ago when it first came out. I was initially put off by a book about kids killing other kids. I love kids. I personally don’t want them killing one another in a book that I read for pleasure. However, it was all the rage and occasionally I feel that I need to read those fad books if only to give good reader’s advisory on them. So I read it. Everyone else was much further on the bandwagon and would tell me, Oh the first one is the best. I didn’t think the first one was that great so I figured, why waste time reading the other two if they’re not as good as a so-so book number one?

The only thing that brought me back to this series was a movie trailer for Catching Fire. I am one of those people who can’t stand suspense. I don’t like scary movies. I don’t like people jumping out at me. So I knew that if I wanted to finish watching the movies of this series I needed to finish the books. I need to know what’s going to happen before it happens. Ask my boyfriend; he hates it. I also don’t like going to movies without reading the book first if only on principle.

Long story short, I finished the last two books. Book two was actually good. I enjoyed it. It was quick moving & I wasn’t expecting the preggo bomb from Peeta. Mockingjay was the opposite. It was too long. I was bored. Every time I thought it was over I knew it couldn’t be because I still had 3 discs left. WTH. I stopped caring about the characters. By the time we hit the epilogue I didn’t even care who Katniss ended up with.

I am excited for the movies though. They’ll make great movies. Except the fact that they’re splitting Mockingjay into two movies. I know the book is long but don’t do that to us people. It’s not necessary.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, audiobooks, book club, book review, fiction, movies, young adult

Leave a Reply

