This is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

wordpress

I just finished reading Big Little Lies which is about a murder at a school function (among other horrible things). So I needed something funny for my next book. This book has been all over to-read lists for awhile and then I heard a movie was coming out. (See previous post.) I always try and read books that are going to be movies. I love doing the comparison between the two, even though the book is usually better. I still haven’t seen The Giver even though I read that book some time ago. So apparently sometimes I don’t follow through with the movie watching, but I still like to do it.

Anyway, I was half way through the book before I saw the trailer and I’m glad I decided to read it because I will definitely be seeing this movie. I have loved Jason Bateman ever since I binge watched Arrested Development and Tina Fey always does things that are hilarious. The book also talks about how the mom used to do Jane Fonda exercise videos back in the day so I find it ironic that the actress playing the mom is, Jane Fonda! For those who read the book that will be a funny thing to note.

The book didn’t disappoint. I laughed out loud frequently. But for all the laughing I did, it is actually about some serious things. His wife cheats on him after they suffer through a miscarriage and the whole book is based around that AND that his father just died and his whole immediate family has to sit shiva for him. Not exactly your typical set-up for side splitting laughs. It’s set from a man’s POV which also doesn’t happen much in books about failed marriages. Men definitely treat those situations differently than if this were a book written from the woman’s POV. The only thing I didn’t like is the open ending. I’m a closure kind of reader so that just pushes my buttons a bit too much. Definitely pick it up if you need a funny read.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, book club, book review, fiction, movies

Leave a Reply

