Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

book

I can’t remember where I heard about this book. Perhaps I just saw it on Goodreads and went from there. I did some Googling and discovered our author Victoria is just a measley 24 year-old. HOW CAN THIS BE??

Anyway, this is a young adult novel in a dystopian society. I know, how unique. For some reason this one didn’t grate on me like all the others though. From reading some Goodreads reviews about it after I started there were people who compared it to Red Rising by Pierce Brown but I haven’t read that book (tried to and only got a few chapters in) so I wasn’t jaded like they were. Sidenote: Brown is 26 years old. What.the.F.

So, Red Queen. “Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with red and those with silver. Mare and her family are lowly Reds, destined to serve the Silver Elite whose supernatural abilities make them nearly gods. Mare steals what she can to help her family survive, but when her best friend is conscripted into the army, she gambles everything to win his freedom. A twist of fate leads her to the royal palace itself where, in front of the king and all his nobles, she discovers a superhuman ability she didn’t know she had.”

Once in the palace she’s given to one of the princes but has feelings for his brother. Whaaaa? Love triangle y’all. As with most books, I got bored towards the end. There was a twist but I was skimming at that point and kind of missed it so it wasn’t as shocking as it should have been. The ending also wasn’t as cliff-hangery as some trilogies so I’m not sure I’ll be motivated to read book two (unless I hear amazing things).

Also, it would make a great movie. Such visuals.

6 Comments

Filed under book review, ebooks, fiction, movies, young adult

6 responses to “Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. I’ve been seeing this book everywhere! Can’t wait to read it!

  2. Currently reading this book! I’m on chapter eighteen. Any thoughts or suggestions (no spoilers, please) before I finish?
    -Amy 😉

  3. Pingback: Amazon’s Best YA Books of 2015 | No1Librarian

  4. Pingback: 30 Anticipated YA Novels | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

