Books I Love: Kids Fiction

Continuing onward and upward! Books I love for kids. Don’t have kids? Don’t like kids books? (<– How could you not?) Read my Books I Love: Adults or Books I Love: YA. Also, I’m breaking kids books up into two posts; fiction and picture books. There are too many I love of each to push it into one.

book

The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick is such a beautiful and original book. It won the Caldecott Award in 2008 and if you know anything about the Caldecott Award you know that it typically goes to a picture book. In fact the Caldecott Medal website states, “The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.” However, Hugo is such an amazing book that I’d say it is an exception. Most libraries place Hugo in the fiction section because it is 534 pages long! Definitely not a picture book by typical standards. Although I’d say 30-40% of those pages are illustrations like this one:

book

Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I won’t spend time telling you what it’s about because the pictures speak for itself. It’s also been made into a move, titled Hugo. and Selznick has also written a book titled Wonderstruck that has nothing to do with Hugo but it in the same long book / illustration combo.

book

Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson is a historical fiction book taking place during the Civil War. Like some of the adult books I talked about, I can’t remember why I loved this one so much. Here is what my Goodreads review says, “Very good historical fiction. Can’t wait to read Forge! Twists and turns keep even adults interested in Isabel’s adventures. Also gives a fresh perspective with a new viewpoint to the Civil War.”

book

Violet Mackerel’s Brilliant Plot by Anna Branford (my review!). A few years ago I went on a crusade to read a lot of the paperback series’ books that my library had. I stumbled upon  this adorable series. Violet is a great character who has compassion and work ethic. I love her. I’ve read two others in the series so far.

book

The Expeditioners and the Treasure of Drowned Man’s Canyon by S. S. Taylor is a book I just read recently (my review!). The West children, Zander, Kit & M.K., receive a long lost map from their recently dead (or is he?) father. They then go on an adventure to Arizona to see if they can use the map to find a treasure. However, there are others are looking for this treasure and they aren’t as nice. It is also a series but the first book wrapped up nicely. No cliff hanger.

wordpress

Bo at Ballard Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill (my review!) is an adorable book that won the Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction in 2014. It is about a little girl named Bo who lives in rural Alaska during (or a little after) the Gold Rush. I love love Bo and her sweet heart for others. The chapters are mini vignettes of her life never seeming to make a plot with a conflict and resolution until the end when she meets a mute little boy with no parents. How can she help him? The story continues in Bo at Iditarod Creek which is just as adorable!

2 Comments

Filed under book review, children, fiction, movies

2 responses to “Books I Love: Kids Fiction

  1. Pingback: Books I Love: Kids Picture Books | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Books I Love: Storytime | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

