Books I Love: Storytime

So I’m finishing my Books I Love series of posts with storytime picks. I love storytime. I am possessive about my storytimes. I want them to all be cohesive and connected so the kids have a routine. But alas, when you work with other people that does not happen. It’s unfortunate. So I just have to stick with things I can control, like my awesome book choices! These are books I love to read all the time for any reason I can think of.

book

My Garden by Kevin Henkes. I’m not one of those people who loves Kevin Henkes. I think he does a great job but this is actually the only book of his that I’ve read more than once and adore. He did win the Caldecott for Kitten’s First Moon but.. I don’t love it. BUT My Garden, I love it. You could read it for so many reasons. Moms, gardens, flowers, fruit, responsibility, growing things, humor! Forever and ever, amen.

wordpress

Flip, Flap, Fly! by Phyllis Root. This book is so adorable. It has tons of baby animals with a non-gender specific baby at the end. Great for baby storytime. It rhymes and has animal sounds. It is just the best.

book  wordpress

Ten Little Fingers & Ten Little Toes by Mem Fox and All of Baby, Nose to Toes by Victoria Adler. I love both of these books, also for baby storytime. They talk about body parts, in case you couldn’t tell. Ten Little Fingers & Toes has great diversity and talks about different babies born in different parts of the world. And All of Baby talks about different ways you can use all your body parts. Both are so cute and encourage parents and children to participate in storytime by identifying their body parts together. FIND YOUR TOES!

book

Wow! Said the Owl by Tim Hopgood. Sometimes I forget about this awesome book. Great for colors and animal storytimes. It could also be for seasons or flowers or whatever else the owl sees. Also has some nontraditional colors like pink and gold.

I could go on forever and ever. Don’t forget to check out my other Books I Love posts. Adult, YA, Kids Fiction & Kids Picture Books.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3+, book review, children, fiction, fun facts, storytime

Leave a Reply

