Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

book

Occasionally I like to read a graphic novel or two. I really liked Smile & Drama so I figured this would be a good one to read since the blurbs compare it to those. I also like to read books about things I know nothing about. And I definitely know nothing about roller derby. I never even saw that movie in the 2000s about it with the girl from Juno (although maybe I will now). Roller Girl was a fun book. I enjoyed the teenage drama because it seemed to ring true without feeling whiny. Sometimes teenage girls get on my nerves. I’m not sure how I feel about the ending though. I think Astrid could have stayed friends with Rachel. I’m assuming they don’t since the illustrator (who is also the author) left the flowers on the bench all alone. WAH! But overall it was interesting and she did a great job explaining how roller derby works at the beginning for those of us who have no clue. Could also be filed as YA.

3 Comments

Filed under book review, children, fiction, graphic novel, young adult

3 responses to “Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

  1. I do like the occasional graphic novel, too. I just recently finished one about hurricane Katrina called Drowned City. This one looks fun and interesting. I’ll see if my library has it.

  2. Pingback: PW Best Middle Grade Books of 2015 | No1Librarian

  3. Pingback: Amazon Best Children’s Books of 2015 | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

