Audiobooks

I’ve really struck out in the audiobook department lately. I need a really good voice when listening to audiobooks because I need it to keep my attention in the car. If the cars around me are more interesting than what’s happening in my book or even just who and how the book is being read then it’s a goner. When I check out audiobooks I check out four or so at a time. Only because I know that I’m very hit or miss with them so I want one there at all times to be a replacement if the one I have is not good enough. These are the last four I checked out.

book

Sabriel by Garth Nix. I wanted to like this book and I think I would but the audiobook was too involved. I need the words on the page in order to understand the world.

book

I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I have read so many good reviews about this book by people I know and by the book world in general. I wanted to like it, but I think in the case of this book it was about not liking the reader and had nothing to do with the story. Luckily I checked out the book also so I’ll see if I can keep going in print.

book

Killing Monica by Candance Bushnell. I started this audio because I love Sex & the City and I thought a new stand alone book would be great. However, she is not awesome. I hated the main character. She’s almost 40 and is a horrible person. Shallow. Awful. Hated her.

book

Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead. This is the audiobook I stuck with (so far). I know nothing about ballet but I enjoy the character of Joan and I like that it switches between characters to keep my attention. I also have the print book as backup just in case.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, audiobooks, book review, fiction, young adult

Leave a Reply

