Books for Flying

I absolutely love traveling. I love flying. I love vacations. I love leaving my comfort zone to go somewhere new and amazing. I also love bringing ten books with me and reading them ALL because there’s so much down time getting from one place to another. Especially in airports and long car rides. Seriously, I read SO MANY books when I travel. My husband watches movies and I read. Its basically like we’re traveling separately. In fact, sometimes I forget to request our seats and we end up sitting separately. HA! I’m going home this week for a wedding and will be on lots of planes. These are the books I’m bringing with me!

book

All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. So many people I’m friends with on Goodreads have given this book a rave review. People I’m not friends with love it too, like the NY Times and the Washington Post. It also won the Pulitzer. How can you go wrong? I bought this one because it has such a long holds list.

book

Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan. I love a good beach read. I absolutely adored Sullivan’s most recent book, Engagements, and so I picked this one up thinking it would be a quick fun read. It seems there is some heavy handed familial relationships as well so it will be a well rounded read.

book

The Martian by Andy Weir. I bought this book for my husband to read buuuuut he doesn’t read. So I’ll probably end up reading it. I like to read the book before I watch the movie and I know he’ll want to go see this movie. (He has a man crush on Matt Damon.) Plus, my co-worker said it was a good book and it has a pretty good Goodreads rating as well.

book

Firefly Hollow by Alison McGhee. Just look at that adorable cover! Who doesn’t love a book cover with a vole and a lantern? And what IS a vole? Gah! I love all of it and I can’t wait to read it. I’m actually unsure if I’ll take this one with me because it’s very heavy.. but I might just have to. It’s too cute not to.

Lastly, if I get too tired and can’t read (which rarely ever happens) I’m halfway through Astonish Me on audiobook. So I may take that route at some point. It’s not quite ten books but I always have my tablet and the interwebs at my fingertips if I need more.

3 Comments

Filed under adult, audiobooks, award winners, book review, current news, day in the life, ebooks, fiction, movies, summer reading

3 responses to “Books for Flying

  1. Pingback: Maine by J. Courtney Sullivan | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 4 | No1Librarian

  3. Pingback: Airplane Reading | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

