Award Winning Books

So let me just say, I didn’t read any of my flying books from my last post. I’ve always been one of those people who takes library books wherever. I know some people balk at taking them on trips in case they lose them or spill on them or whatever it is they think is going to happen in their minds. I am not one of those people. I take them everywhere. Multiple books shoved in bags of all kinds. Except on this trip. I could only take one book with me because Spirit Airlines is cheap but ridiculous with their baggage costs. I saw All the Light We Cannot See on my shelf, which I went out and bought because it’s always on hold or checked out, and decided to take that because I’ve been seeing reviews everywhere! New York Times. The Guardian. The Washington Post. Also, it’s a good thing I did bring this one because it got muddy and wet at the pool from all the dogs running in and out on my vacation. Oh dogs, God love them. Haven’t finished, review on this book soon.

book

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize (2015), Andrew Carnegie Medal (2015) and National Book Award Finalist (2014)

Anyway, I like reading the books that win awards. They’re great conversation starters, at least with friends / librarians that read and I also like to be in the know. Should it have won? Did I like it? Can I recommend it to others now that I’ve read it? These reasons are the same things I think about when reading a popular children’s series that I don’t really care about (i.e. Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place which I apparently did not review, but will now). I want to be able to recommend it to my youngsters who come in needing readers advisory. I digress. Award books. I was thinking about award books when I went to Half Price Books in Texas. They were having a Labor Day Sale, woot! For some reason the East Coast doesn’t have this wonderful store. I ended up getting some more award winning books. Has anyone read them?

book

The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton. Winner of the Man Booker Prize (2013).

book

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. Winner of the Pulitzer Prize (2015), Andrew Carnegie Medal (2014) <- same awards ATLWCS won btw

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, award winners, current news, fiction

Leave a Reply

