Harry Potter Illustrated Edition

books

Let me first just say how annoyed I am that Goodreads has this listed under the first edition of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone so I could in no way give it a new review with the illustrations. Okay, now that I got that off my chest let me tell you how amazing it is. This wonderful book is 256 pages and only 70 of them do not have illustrations. That’s 180 PAGES of illustrated images friends. I had some people calling the library the week this came out asking if we had the “Harry Potter graphic novel” and I wasn’t sure how to explain to them that that’s not what it is. Granted, it is advertised in a confusing way. Fully-illustrated edition to a normal individual does imply graphic novel. I knew it wasn’t because it would have obviously said graphic novel but still, it was hard to imagine what a fully-illustrated edition was going to look like. It is not disappointing, it is amazing. The illustrations are gorgeous. This one of Hagrid’s house (not my photo) I would rip out and frame if I thought I had anywhere appropriate to put it. Who am I kidding, I could put it anywhere. Gah!

books

If you love Harry Potter as much as I do, get this book. Or at least go view it at your local library so you can say that you’ve basked in it’s glory. I was also telling my co-worker that sometimes I feel like kids younger than what I consider the HP target age group are reading the books. I would feel wonderful handing this edition to a younger HP reader because it has such gorgeous illustrations to draw them in. We also commented on how much bigger and longer the books are going to get as the series goes on (because surely they’ll do ALL THE BOOKS). This edition is roughly 50 pages shorter than the first text edition but that’s because it’s a lot bigger. You could maybe qualify it as a coffee table book, albeit small one. Deathly Hallows will certainly make a big coffee table book in illustrated edition.

Other buzz concerning HP Illustrated Edition

Entertainment Weekly

Gallery in The Guardian

1 Comment

Filed under adult, book review, children, current news, fiction, young adult

One response to “Harry Potter Illustrated Edition

  1. Pingback: J.K. New Children’s Book | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

