Orphan Train

11889668_10153596602589182_8541922347531538504_n

This book had a lot of buzz in the past few years. It was running rampant through every book club group in the country. It was on hold lists at libraries for months. It was the Goodreads Fiction choice winner in 2013. (Side note, if you haven’t voted for this year’s best books on Goodreads go do that!)

Anyway, I resisted the hype but finally succumbed. It was very good. I listened on audio first which is always the key for me (I think I’ve mentioned this before). It gets me involved in the book and then I can’t wait to finish it so I check out the real book and continue reading outside the car. Now that my commute has basically tripled I finish things much faster, which is helpful for my TBR shelf.

This book has alternating points of view (which I love) where we go back and forth between Molly in present day (2011) and Vivienne throughout her life from 1929 to current day. There were some twists, light and usually happy hearted ones, and I think they were placed beautifully. Nothing seemed far fetched and both stories were relateable. Molly had the perfect amount of teenage angst and I loved her relationship with the 91-year-old Vivienne. As someone who loves hearing the stories of older people I enjoyed this book immensely.

Variety says that it’s going to be made into a movie!

Interview with author on NPR

Write-up in USA Today

1 Comment

Filed under adult, audiobooks, award winners, book review, fiction

One response to “Orphan Train

  1. I have a copy of this on my shelf, like you, I have been resisting the hype. I think it is time I pulled it out and gave it a read!

Leave a Reply

