Goodreads Challenge 2015

I can’t believe it’s almost NYE 2015. Goodreads reminded me this morning, 2015 is OVER. Luckily it also said something positive, You completed your Goodreads Challenge! I put down 200 books because I thought that sounded legit and then ended up reading 305. Let me clarify, I put most all books I read on there. Because I order books for our children’s department when they come I read them all so I know how to hand them off to kids. This means I could read 20 picture books while sitting at the desk. Those count. Which means for my Goodreads Challenge 2016 I may have to up my number a bit. I went back through all 300 books I read and decided which 3 were the best of the my year (not necessarily published this year but read by me this year). Side note, it took me about an hour to pick 3 books and I was really upset that I couldn’t pick 10 or 20 because narrowing down to 3 was hard. But I loved going through them all because when you read as much as I do, you forget what you read. “Oh right, that was a good book!” was said out loud a lot.

book

Monty’s Magnificent Mane by Gemma O’Neill. I picked this book because I love her illustrations. I follow her on Facebook and sometimes she sells them. They are SO beautiful. I prefer her other book, Oh Dear, Geoffery! because I love giraffes but Monty was just as beautiful. Mainly chosen for the illustrations and not necessarily the story.

ForestFeast_Case_r2.indd

Forest Feast by Erin Gleesen is an amazing and simple cookbook. I’m not a good cook and it’s hard to be a vegetarian sometimes. I really liked this and her mix of real photos and illustrations was lovely.

book

I think my favorite adult book was Maine by Courtney J. Sullivan. There were so many but I just loved all the characters in Maine. And the setting immediately made me Google Maine and I’m definitely going to make a trip there once it’s not covered in snow. Just looking at the woman on the cover makes me envious. I did really like Some Luck by Jane Smiley as well, however I don’t like that it’s a trilogy.

There are SO many more I could have chosen. Just look through all my blog posts if you need other ideas.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, book review, children, fiction, non-fiction

Leave a Reply

