Newbery & Caldecott 2015

book  book

These are the major winners that I look forward to. The awards were announced at ALA Midwinter which was in Boston but unfortunately they announce them at 8am and there was no way I was going to make it in to the city that early. I did have some friends that went though so I can live vicariously through them.

This year a picture book, Last Stop on Market Street, won the Newbery (which is very uncommon) and Finding Winnie won the Caldecott award. Thankfully, my library has both books. Sometimes it doesn’t work out that way, like last year with Crossover. I remember almost skipping over Finding Winnie because we had just ordered another book about Winnie the Pooh that I thought was the same book. It’s just called Winnie and is also very beautifully illustrated in case you want to check it out.

21469062

I must also say, I read a lot of book blogs and a lot of them were confused by the Newbery choice. Although the award is given to books age appropriate for 0-14 it is not typically given to a picture book. And by not typically, I mean not ever. Not since I’ve been alive anyway. So there’s that.

 

1 Comment

Filed under 3+, award winners, children, current news

One response to “Newbery & Caldecott 2015

  1. Karla @ crpl

    And has it ever happened that the Newbwry award winner received a Caldecott honor? Very strange. My thoughts mirror yours.

Leave a Reply

