Armchair BEA

armchairbea2bheaderrev42b252812529
I heard about Armchair BEA through some other blogs I follow. First, BEA, stands for Book Expo America. Armchair BEA is for those of us who can’t attend BEA, which is in Chicago this year, so we participate and follow through a virtual convention in the comfort of our armchair. Today is the day we introduce ourselves.
  • What is the name you prefer to use? Jennifer. I mean I don’t know if I prefer it, it’s just my name.
  • How long have you been a book blogger? I’ve been blogging here since December of 2012. So about 3.5 years.
  • Have you participated in ABEA before? I haven’t! I only just heard about it through Randomly Reading (who participated in the Cybils awards with me this year )& Storytime Secrets.
  • Do you have a favorite book? My favorite book is The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion.
  • What is your favorite genre and why? I typically like realistic fiction whether it be current or historical. I like to learn about different ways of life and different time periods. My favorite is probably 1900-1930s. Who wouldn’t want to be a flapper?
  • How do you arrange your bookshelves? Is there a rhyme or reason? Or not at all? Ooh ooh. This is a great question. At my house I have a whole room of bookshelves that are books I haven’t read. Then in my dining room I have the books in a color scheme to match my rug. The books I own and have read are few and I put them in my living room. They are few because once I buy a book and read it I typically give it away to someone I know will also enjoy it. I don’t expect them back, which is good because I don’t usually get them back. Ha.
  • What book are you most excited for on your TBR? What are you most intimidated by? Jodi Picoult has a new book coming out in October I think. I’m most excited and intimidated by that. I worry that the hype will be lost once I start reading and that makes me nervous.
  • If you could choose three characters to have lunch with, who would they be and why? Hm.. Jude from A Little Life, Celia from The Night Circus & Elizabeth Bennett from Pride & Prejudice. I just finished all 3 of those books, sort of, and that’s who I’m thinking about right now.
3 Comments

Filed under adult, current news, day in the life, fun facts, special events

3 responses to “Armchair BEA

  1. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 3 | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 2 | No1Librarian

  3. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 4 | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

