Armchair BEA Day 2

Today it’s all about the books. Here are the things Armchair BEA book blogs are talking about today.

  • How often do you judge a book by its cover? I love book covers. Anyone who says they don’t judge a book by its cover is lying. I even have statistics. 90% of the books children choose are from face out displays. Why do you think face out displays work so well? Because you can see the cover gosh darn it. So I’d say I’m no different than those kids, 90% of the time I judge by the cover.
  • How important is it for the visual art on the outside of the book to match or coordinate with the literature art on the inside? A few days ago I would’ve thought; how is this even a question? Of course it must match. I’m not sure I’d come across a book that didn’t. But then I started reading Half Magic. The cover art on my copy is by Quentin Blake, who I love. But alas, then you open it and it’s like the world of Dick & Jane. No offense to N.M. Bodecker who is apparently the original illustrator. I want my cover art and the inside illustrations to match. Imagine if a 4 year old picked up a Disney princess book based on the cover (as they do) and then opened it to find the art of Jackson Pollack. Yuck.

510ommaxmol-_sx329_bo1204203200_     5-31-half-magic-image

What is Armchair BEA

2 Comments

Filed under current news, fun facts, special events

2 responses to “Armchair BEA Day 2

  1. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 3 | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Armchair BEA Day 4 | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

