Podcasts

I love podcasts. Love them. I stole my website art from NPR and I love that she’s reading and listening to something. I do that all.the.time. Let me tell you about two book related podcasts that I love.

All the Books!

Liberty Hardy and Rebecca Schinsky are the moderators of this podcast and they are hilarious. I love them. They also have great taste in books and such a variety of interests. I love listening to their banter. Their podcast comes out weekly, on Tuesdays, and they talk about the new releases of the week. There are hundreds of books released every week. Literally. They narrow it down and talk about the ones they loved and then also list all the others that are notable on their website.

Slate’s Audio Book Club

In contrast to All the Books!, Slate is a monthly podcast. They choose a book of the month (I’m pretty sure THEY choose it, I’ve never heard of them saying there’s a vote or somewhere to go to voice your opinion), and then they discuss it. “They” are usually 3 people who typically work for Slate and sometimes have a relation to the book’s subject. I remember the Lab Girl discussion had someone on the panel who was Slate’s science editor. Needless to say, she was not part of the conversation on Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld (my review). I don’t follow the Audio Book Club in the typical sense. I don’t run out and get the book they choose and participate. But if I see that I’ve read the book they chose that month I will definitely listen to their conversation. I’ve even gone back to previous episodes that were before I knew about the podcast and listened to those ones that are about books I read and liked. I especially enjoyed finding the one about A Little Life since I was recently obsessed (my review).

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, fun facts

Leave a Reply

