National Book Award Winners 2016

2016_nba_winners_group

National Book Award has announced their winners. No surprise that The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead was the adult fiction winner. He had Oprah behind him after all and she’s basically God. I have Underground Railroad on my Kindle from a long time ago via Netgalley and should probably get to reading it. I also just got the first and last books in the March series so I can feed educated on that, waiting on book two. I’m not sure the other two peak my interest. But there are a few on the short / long list that did.

news-of-the-world

News of the World by Paulette Jiles was a finalist. I bought it a few weeks ago and was going to give it to my best friend for Christmas but she asked for something else instead so I guess it’s mine.

miss-jane

Miss Jane by Brad Watson was on the longlist. It is a book I checked out a few months ago and then didn’t open, per usual. I adore the cover. Isn’t it so beautiful? This would be a good paperback purchase.

ypl-dicamillo-raymie-nightingale

Raymie Nightingale by Kate DiCamillo was a finalist for the youth selection. I read it back in April. I didn’t love it.

ypl-yoon-sun-is-also-a-star

The Sun is also a Star by Nicola Yoon was a finalist as well. I believe I have it at my house right now. It’s getting lots of buzz and I even heard them talking about it on the All the Books podcast this morning.

Leave a comment

Filed under adult, award winners, best lists, fiction, young adult

Leave a Reply

