The Verdict by Nick Stone

25622050

I checked out The Verdict when it first came out and then never got around to it. I heard that Liberty Hardy loved it so I checked it out again. Mostly a crime drama. Some politics.

“Terry Flynt is a struggling legal clerk, desperately trying to get promoted. And then he is given the biggest opportunity of his career: to help defend a millionaire accused of murdering a woman in his hotel suite. The only problem is that the accused man, Vernon James, turns out to be not only someone he knows, but someone he loathes. This case could potentially make Terry’s career, but how can he defend a former friend who betrayed him so badly?”

I liked the friendship aspect of these two characters, although the reason Terry hates Vernon is ridiculous. That said, it was very good, not your typical thriller / crime drama. Lots of twists and turns. I was listening on audio first which is good, because some of it took serious thinking to connect the dots. Overall, I really liked it and I like the outcome. It’s a book my father-in-law would love, and any other thriller reader, and I have since told him to read it. Read-alikes to James Patterson apply.

Leave a comment

Filed under book review, fiction

Leave a Reply

