Traveling Book Club Nov-Dec

I went through my messages. These are the books I had in November and December. You can probably guess on whether or not I read them since I couldn’t remember what any of them were. I’m not a very good participant. Too many books, too little time! #librarianproblems

29340182

Shrill by Lindy West. I had no idea who Lindy West was before I got this book but I do now. From her own website she is described as, “an American writer, feminist, fat acceptance movement activist, and film criticism editor.” She works at The Stranger with Dan Savage. It would seem that I’ve never written about my love for Mr. Savage on this blog but I do. I love him. So that made me interested. I read the chapter she wrote about him and some others but did not read the whole thing.

2728527

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows. This book. I swear it haunts me. Annie Barrows writes the Ivy & Bean books. I love those books. They are adorable. But I don’t want an adorable adult novel. I can’t in good conscience read this book without cringing. Maybe someday someone will convince me. But it wasn’t this time.

20820994

I’ll Give you the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I started this and quit. I have no other excuse.

 

1 Comment

Filed under adult, book club, fiction, non-fiction, traveling book club, young adult

One response to “Traveling Book Club Nov-Dec

  1. Lindy West confronts her cruelest troll on TAL (This American Life) and it is very interesting. I highly recommend. She might even talk about it in Shrill; I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

