A Thousand Splendid Suns

This book came from my traveling book club. And it was so timely. While we’re in the throes of an immigration ban it’s interesting to read a book on just that. Two women who want to leave their country. And they have damn good reasons and should be allowed to leave their country. And that’s how I feel about that. But let’s talk about how I feel about the book.

128029

First, apologies to my bestie who loves this book. For years she’s been telling me how great it is and I kept saying, yeah yeah okay, and then never reading it. Mainly because I had heard about his other book, The Kite Runner, and had no desire to read that one either. So I projected that lack of enthusiasm onto this book. This is a book that I only feel good about reading because it helped me understand Afghanistan and it’s conflict. Did I like the characters? Of course. However, I hate, absolutely positively hate, when books have violent husbands and the women can do nothing. It makes me want to hurl the book across the room. I cringe even thinking about the things women who lived in this area and this time went through. And in that way, I’m glad I read it because my eyes have been opened more. But I can’t say I enjoyed the outcome. I did enjoy the way it was written and the two points of view. I always like that. But otherwise, God it was depressing.

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : A book recommended by someone with great taste

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : A novel set during wartime

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017 : Read a book about war

1 Comment

Filed under 2017, adult, book review, current news, fiction, Reading Challenge, traveling book club

One response to “A Thousand Splendid Suns

  1. Pingback: Traveling Book Club Jan-Feb | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

