Bear and the Nightingale

25489134

I read a book! I am such a slacker with my reading lately. Every time I log on to Goodreads it tells me I’m behind in my reading goal for the year. One month in and I’m already behind. HOW CAN THIS BE??! We’re being pelted with snow here so I’ve taken the day to tackle my TBR pile. And what do you know, I finished a book! The Bear and the Nightingale is a book I did not choose myself. An old co-worker suggested we read a book together, with another co-worker, and this is the book she chose. Set mostly in Russia during winter, it was great for a snowy day. I liked it at first but grew less fond of it the more mystical it became. My friend pointed out that I do like mystical things. Harry Potter anyone? As someone who enjoys Harry Potter and the Night Circus I can only say that this book is different because it mixed in evil and church. I like good and happy magic like tents of ice and chocolate frogs. This is not that. It is still enjoyable, just not my jam.

Now that I’ve looked it up on Goodreads I can see that there’s apparently a book two. Whaaat??

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : A book set somewhere you’ve never been but would like to visit (I’ve always wanted to see those gorgeous palaces!)

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : A book involving a mythical creature

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017 : Read a book that is set more than 5,000 miles from your location (Russia is 5,253 miles, in case you were wondering)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017, adult, fiction, Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

