History of Wolves

30183198

I heard about this book on the All the Books podcast, as usual. I’m not sure I hear about books any other way anymore. I started listening to it on audiobook. I’ve realized that I commit to books much longer when I’m listening on audio than I ever would if I were reading it. I never ever would have finished this book had it not been something in my car that continued on its own. It moved very slow. The main character, Madeline / Linda (still not sure why she had two names) tells about her life in different ages and stages but always goes back to the story of when she was 16 in Minnesota as a babysitter for her neighbor. This back and forth in time rarely has any indication which was sometimes confusing. There is a climax that she’s moving towards and things happen but they didn’t feel like climaxes because there was no build up. I don’t know how to explain it. If you like Kent Haruf, which I do, it’s kind of like that. Although I don’t like that comparison because I actually really liked Our Souls at Night. History of Wolves is a novel about day to day people with some points of interest but nothing super major.. Did I like it? Nah, not really. I won’t recommend it to anyone.

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : a book set in the wilderness

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017 : Read a debut novel

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017, adult, book review, fiction

Leave a Reply

