Behind Her Eyes

28965131

I picked this book from the February choices of Book of the Month. I chose Behind Her Eyes because in an episode of the All the Books podcast Liberty Hardy, who reads for a living, said that even she had no idea where the ending was going. I thought to myself, Are you f*ing kidding?? Sign me up! Liberty did not disappoint. I had no idea what was happening through most of the book let alone guessing the ending. I read it with some old co-workers and I wish I would’ve known the ending was going to be so awesome because I would’ve made us all wait and read the last 20 pages together so we could see each others faces. It is that good.

Now that I said that I don’t know. Is it good or was I just thoroughly engrossed? I feel like it’s Gone Girl-ish in the way that all the characters aren’t really characters I want to root for. (I have some serious things to say about Gillian Flynn’s books here). They all do something bad and they are all more or less horrible people. But the plot is so enthralling. Also, the ending. Along with the warning from Liberty that no one will guess, it came with a BOTM bookmark that said, “You think you know how it ends? You’re wrong. I promise.” That’s just asking for it. I read the words so closely, which is very unlike me. I’m a big skimmer. But I wanted to catch all the possible clues. Still, I did not guess. You will not guess either. I promise.

unnamed

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : a book with an unreliable narrator or ambiguous ending

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : a  book with an unreliable narrator

2 Comments

Filed under 2017, adult, book club, Book of the Month, book review, fiction, Reading Challenge

2 responses to “Behind Her Eyes

  1. Pingback: February BOTM | No1Librarian

  2. Pingback: Pachinko | No1Librarian

Leave a Reply

