Pachinko

29983711

Pachinko is a title I picked from the February choices of Book of the Month. Since Behind Her Eyes was such a hit I figured I should continue on with my others from that book box. I decided on Pachinko because the guest judge who chose this book is Alexander Chee. He of the Queen of the Night phenomenon. Now that I’ve finished Pachinko I find this unsurprising because it is a sweeping novel with multiple generations from one family growing and changing through the years and with the country. Chee’s novel reads much like Pachinko in detail and saga.

Sunja is the main character we meet first, a Korean who gets pregnant by a married man. She then marries a traveling preacher, Isak, who stopped at her mother’s boarding house and was nursed by them back to health. He is a great man. He wants kids and a wife and Sunja is in need of a man to keep her from ruin so it works out well. They move to Japan with the intent to go back to Korea someday. Spoiler alert : they never do. Their family is subjected to racial commentary throughout the whole book because Koreans are lesser in Japan. They are immigrants. Even though some of them get Japanese citizenship towards they end they’re still never considered Japanese, always Korean. Sunja and Isak meet family in Japan and have kids and the rest of the book follows their journey and the journey of those that come after.

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : an immigrant story

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : a book about an immigrant or refugee

Book Riot Read Harder Challenge 2017 : read a book wherein all point-of-view characters are people of color

1 Comment

Filed under 2017, adult, book club, Book of the Month, book review, fiction, Reading Challenge

One response to “Pachinko

  1. I have heard great things about this novel. I always love stories about immigrants, primarily because it provides a view into their culture. I hope to read this book soon. I have yet to find a copy in my area. I may have to order it online.

Leave a Reply

