Lincoln in the Bardo

29906980

“On February 22, 1862, two days after his death, Willie Lincoln was laid to rest in a marble crypt in a Georgetown cemetery… Set over the course of that one night and populated by ghosts of the recently passed and the long dead, Lincoln in the Bardo is a thrilling exploration of death, grief, the powers of good and evil, a novel – in its form and voice – completely unlike anything you have read before.”

This book took me awhile. Over a month. I finished it for a discussion with friends, otherwise I would’ve abandoned long ago. There were parts at the end that I highlighted and will enjoy discussing with them. But overall, it’s not for me and I wasn’t in love with it like they were.
I first checked it out on audiobook. It is written almost like a play with many many characters. The audio book boasts a cast of 166 narrators, which is something I had to experience for myself. I liked the way the audio presented the story much more than I liked reading the book.
I changed my rating from a 2 to a 3 solely based on the distinctive writing style, I’ve never seen it in anything else. Having read a bit about George Saunders this isn’t surprising. It’s his first novel. Ever. So he obviously had to start with a bang!

Interview with George Saunders in Kirkus

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : a book of poetry, a play, or an essay collection (technically not a play but it is def written like one – so I’m counting it)

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : a book from a nonhuman perspective (ghost)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017, adult, audiobooks, book review, fiction, Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply

