Hiatus + Duels & Deception

Oh my God. It’s almost been a month since I posted. A MONTH! Let me tell you why. I went back to my old job. Back in July of last year I said something in this post about how I was going to stay at my last job a long time because it was a manager position. Well, I’m eating my words. And that’s all I’ll say about that. So let’s move on to something I’ve read. Because beyond picture books I’ve only finished one book. Which again, what is wrong with me.

29569260

I saw this book on a review and put it on hold because I remember reading a review about her first book, Love, Lies & Spies. I think I even have it on my Kindle. Anyway, I just finished and it was good! Sort of a teen romance, there is no kissing, just lost of Victorian era pining. Lydia Whitfield, an heir to her family fortune, is kidnapped along with her solicitor (i.e. lawyer) Robert Newton. That’s not a spoiler, it happens almost immediately. What follows is minimal blackmail with a who-done-it mystery and her and Robert trying to figure out how to keep the public from realizing they spent a night alone without the company of chaperones. Gasp! It was cute and quick with some side stories that kept it from feeling trite. Recommended!

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge 2017 : a book you chose for the cover

Popsugar Reading Challenge 2017 : a book about an interesting woman

Leave a comment

Filed under book review, fiction, young adult

Leave a comment